Sex crimes are some of the most serious offenses in US law. If you have been convicted of sex crimes in the state of New York you must register with the New York State’s Sex Offender Registry. If you or somebody that you know has been required to register, you must be fully aware of all of your obligations.
According to the Division of Criminal Justice Services of New York, one of the most basic obligations of those who are on the sex offender registry is informing the DCSJ where you are living on a yearly basis. In the event that you change addresses, you must also inform the DCSJ in writing within 10 days of the move. You are also required to provide any email accounts or internet accounts associated with your name, as well as your internet service provider.
There are three levels of sex offenders in the registry. If you are a level 1 or level 2 sex offender, you must also submit yourself to be photographed every three years. If you are classified as a level 3 sex offender, you must submit yourself every year. Level 3 sex offenders must also register their addresses every 90 days, and if your appearance has changed during this time you may be re-photographed.
Level 1 sex offenders, who are designated as low-risk, must remain on the New York State’s Sex Offender Registry for 20 years. Those who are designated level 2 or level 3 sex offenders must be registered for life.
This post is intended to inform you about the obligations of registered sex offenders. It is not intended to be taken as legal advice.